This One Made Me Think A Lot

28 Jun

http://rachelheldevans.com/blog/growing-up-in-sovereign-grace-ministries-abuse

I’ve been keeping myself super super busy, and I don’t have internet where I’m living right now, so I’m taking a bit of an un-official summer break from blogging.

However.

I read the above post this afternoon, and it’s really made me think a lot…

I’m really struggling with my parents right now. I managed to patch things up with them at the beginning of the summer. But now they’re  pushing me to postpone getting married and abandon my plans for having a part time job and family after graduation in December. Instead they’re offering to pay for me to go to Grad School.

“We’re worried about you.” they say.

“We want what’s best for you.” they say.

“You deserve better than to just be a housewife – you’re so beautiful and smart and it would wrong for you not to use the gifts God has given to you.” they say.

“It would be selfish of you not to keep going to school…otherwise we’ll have to pay even more for your health insurance.” they say.

I’m glad I read that article. Even though it was really long. It spoke to my soul because her story is so close to my own. And it helped me voice some of the things I’ve been feeling lately:

It’s wrong to use religion to get someone else to do what you want. In fact, I’d go so far as to say that it’s taking God’s name in vain.

It’s okay for me not to live a life of constant submission. It’s okay for me to stand up for myself and for what I know is God’s will. Even when that means I have to disappoint my parents a little more. Or a lot more.

God created me to live a life of freedom in Christ – not a life of bondage and guilt. He created me to obey Him above all else. And even though it goes against everything I’ve ever known to do the opposite of what my parents want…I would far rather be right smack in the center of God’s will. 

5 Responses to “This One Made Me Think A Lot”

  1. theoress June 28, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Wow!

    As someone who recently transitioned to being a stay-at-home-mom, I can definitely understand why comments like that are so hurtful. (If you are interested, read my Catholic Hippie Mom posts, just a few posts back).

    Also, our lives need only be lived in submission to God.

    “It’s wrong to use religion to get someone else to do what you want. In fact, I’d go so far as to say that it’s taking God’s name in vain.” I totally agree.

  2. Jennwith2ns June 29, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    So glad to hear from you again. I’ve been wondering about/praying for you–but I’ve also been taking sporadic online breaks, so I’ve missed a lot of blog posts.

    Theoress is right about submission to God. Isn’t it weird that sometimes we have to stand up for our “right” to submit?

    I’m gonna read the Held Evans post soon . . .

    • elliejaneohara June 30, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

      Thanks for the prayers, they’re much needed haha!

      The Evans post is really good…I’ve been reading a lot of her stuff this summer. Her words are good for my soul.

  3. Lyn August 19, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    Ellie, I was thinking of you this morning and said a little prayer for you. Hope all is well.

    Lyn

Leave a Reply

