Happy Mother’s Day, I Guess…

11 May

Mother’s Day has never been so strange for me.

I found the perfect cards for my mother-in-law to-be, and for my sponsor’s mom who is graciously opening her home to me this summer…

Hallmark couldn’t really say what I wanted to tell my mom this year…

Dear Mom,

I want to hear you laugh again. I want to put a smile on your face. I want that ugly worry wrinkle on your forehead and the resentful tone in your voice to go away. It’s killing me to know how unhappy I’ve made you. So for today can we just forgot that you’re Baptist and I’m Catholic? If I agree to put aside the hurtful things you’ve said, then can you maybe do the same for me? Maybe we can just have a day of peace where neither one of us ends the day crying alone in her bathroom…

I guess we’ll see…

Also I managed to tell my mom I’m moving out permanently and it was a complete disaster.

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day, I Guess…”

  1. cinemacatechesis May 11, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    So sorry Elle. Just remember that you love her anyway… And she loves you, too. Focus on the good… And remember that distance and time can help the rest.

    • elliejaneohara May 11, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

      It’s true…and knowing that I am officially and permanently moving out has helped my attitude a lot – which has reassured me that time away from her will do us both a lot of good.

Leave a Reply

