An Open Letter to a Single Momma

25 Apr

You were sixteen when you found out you were pregnant. You were alone and ashamed. You had no idea how you were going to finish high school with a baby.

But you knew that the baby inside you was alive. You knew that that baby was special and unique. Most importantly you knew that that baby was not just your child, but God’s child as well.

How did you face your strict Christian parents? How did you look them in the eyes and tell them your secret?

How did you face the teasing – the cruel jeers about your body and your sexuality that your peers felt free to make? How did you find the courage to walk down the hallways of your school each day?

I wish so badly that I could go back in time and hold your hand during those hard times. I wish that I could un-do the cruel and careless words said about you and your beautiful baby.Β I hope and pray that some day I will have just half of the strength that you had during those nine months – and the years after.

You’ll never know how much I admire you for the beautiful words about your baby that you shared with me last week:

From the moment I knew he existed he was my reason for breathing.

I love you so much sweet lady. I love your soul and your strength and your love for God. I love you because you loved your baby more than you loved yourself.

I am proud that someday I’ll be able to call you mother-in-law. That beautiful baby that you gave birth to grew into the best man I’ve ever met. He is my hero and I love him with my whole heart. Thank you for giving him life. Thank you for giving him to me.

God did a great work in you. He took what Satan intended for evil and made it into a love more beautiful than words can describe – a love between mother and son, a love between man and wife, and a love between mother and daughter-in-law.

7 Responses to “An Open Letter to a Single Momma”

  1. Lyn April 25, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    That is beautiful, Ellie. I had to share it on my page πŸ™‚

    I have prayed for my children’s future spouses from the time they were little kids. It’s neat to watch the Lord answer those prayers, He did good!

  2. singingjaniebird April 25, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

    How beautiful. It brought tears to my eyes.

  3. pishnguyen April 25, 2013 at 6:33 pm #

    This is one of the most beautiful things I have ever read. I am so happy for you that you have found someone with whom you can share your life and hopes and dreams. And, also, that you will inherit such a loving and wonderful mother-in-law.

    • elliejaneohara April 25, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

      Awww, thank you for your sweet comment! I’m very lucky to have a future mother-in-law who with whom I already have a great relationship. She’s a very special lady for sure!

  4. geloruma April 29, 2013 at 3:47 am #

    This is a lovely post, I am sure your own mom felt the same about you – (she is having a hard time adjusting right now) she just may never have told you though…yet…there’s still time!

Leave a Reply

