Well…the Catholic cat is out of the proverbial bag…

3 Apr

I sent my parents an e-mail this morning that said this.

I literally could not sleep last night because I couldn’t stop thinking about how I needed to tell them. I feel a lot better now because it’s not a secret anymore…

We’ll see how they react.

In the meantime I’m asking for all the prayers I can get. I even stood in the shower and timidly asked St. Elizabeth Ann Seton for her intercession.

I’m an adult and I’m obeying the Lord. There’s no reason I should be this worried…

All you holy men and women pray for me and pray for my family.

Pray for me, dear readers.

8 Responses to “Well…the Catholic cat is out of the proverbial bag…”

  1. Faith April 3, 2013 at 9:11 am #

    Praying for you, my friend!

  2. SR April 3, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    Prayers are with you and have been. This has been a big hurdle for you, but am glad you finally “jumped it.” Praying for your parents as well. God Bless, SR

  3. pishnguyen April 3, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    I spent a good part of my day today browsing your blog and reading your wonderful posts. How I wish I would have stumbled upon your blog a couple of months ago. It was almost eerie, reading some of your posts, because it seems you and I have gone through many similar things. (I can’t say “same” and am kind of hesitant at even writing “similar”, because I think each person’s journey is beautiful and unique. So I hope saying that your entries felt familiar or similar for me will not seem insulting.)

    I was raised Baptist, too. But haven’t truly been that for a long, long, long time. Well over ten years and probably closer to twenty. I’m quite a bit older than you, and I am financially independent. And yet … I was terrified of telling my parents I had decided to join the Catholic Church. I told them over the phone, and I was so nervous that I was shaking. Even as a grown woman, with a child of my own, I was worried about hurting them or upsetting them. And I worried, constantly, about what they would think.

    My parents have known about my decision for a few months. It wasn’t easy. They said they were all right with it, but this wasn’t true. I could never discuss anything church-related or God-related with them. I had to answer all kinds of questions about why I wanted to join this Church, and about why I had decided I no longer believed in Jesus. And the idea of saints, our Blessed Mother, and Confession/Reconciliation were nearly too much for them to understand. There was a lot of guilt and push-back and many negative comments, which were painful. My husband is “cradle Catholic”, and, when we had our marriage blessed, my mom told me she was happy about it if it made me happy. But that it really didn’t matter at all, and I was silly to do something that had no meaning. And, then, she said, “It doesn’t matter, anyhow. You can always go back.” When I asked what she meant, she told me “You can always go back to the way you used to be. The way things should be.” And I knew she just didn’t get it. This made me sad, but I was able to accept that this is the way it has to be.

    Now, I think my parents are at peace with the fact that I am Catholic. And with the fact that their granddaughter is Catholic, too. Or, as much at peace as they can be. Oddly enough, it was my childhood pastor (who is still their minister) who helped them. When they brought my conversion up to him in conversation, he spent some extra time talking to them and explaining different things about the Catholic Church. He told them that they had nothing to fear, and there was no reason to be sad, and that they should be happy that my family has found a spiritual home. Truly, he was sent to them by God, and I will always be thankful for his attitude of tolerance and his words of comfort to my parents.

    I think the letter you sent your parents was beautiful. It was very matter-of-fact and loving, and I hope your parents can see this shining out through your words. I think it shows great respect for them on your part, but you also did a wonderful job of explaining to them that this is where God called you. And that you are happy about your choice. My prayer for you is that your parents will accept your decision with the same humility, grace, and love you have shown them. And that your parents will come to have peace with you being Catholic.

    (I’m really sorry for the super long comment.)

    • elliejaneohara April 3, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Not a problem at all, I enjoyed reading every word!

      I see what you mean about similar stories…I think the Lord blesses each person with his or her own individual story, but that at the heart of each story there are chords of similarity. One of my favorite C. S. Lewis quotes is “Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: What! You too? I thought I was the only one.”

    • geloruma April 4, 2013 at 5:09 am #

      Your family and mom and dad are in our prayers too…

      • pishnguyen April 4, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

        Thank you very much. 🙂

  4. geloruma April 4, 2013 at 5:06 am #

    Hi Ellie,
    me and my family are praying for you –

Leave a Reply

