3 Apr

My parents aren’t speaking to me.

My dad left me a calm voicemail to tell me that he and my mom need some space from me.

I expected a tearful phone call.

I expected yelling and arguments.

I hoped that maybe, just maybe they would understand, that they would tell me that they love me and support me no matter what.

I just want to sit on my couch and cry.

Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton, patroness of lost parents, pray that I might not lose mine.

~~~

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.

12 Responses to “”

  1. pishnguyen April 3, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    I am so, so sorry. Reading your post, I felt like someone had punched me in the gut. I can’t even imagine how you feel. Many prayers that taking some time away will give your parents the ability to accept and find peace with your decision.

    (And even though we only just “met” … and you probably think I’m a total nut because of my super-long and ill-timed comment earlier … I am also sending some internet hugs your way. Because you are not alone.)

    • Jennwith2ns April 3, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

      I was going to write something myself, but pishnguyen pretty much took the words out of my mouth. I am so sorry, my new friend. I am praying for you.

      • elliejaneohara April 4, 2013 at 6:33 am #

        Thank Jenn, I really appreciate your friendship. It’s good to have non-Catholics in my life…helps me feel a little bit normal haha.

      • Jennwith2ns April 4, 2013 at 7:38 am #

        Heh. Sympathetic non-Catholics. 🙂 I looked into it at one point myself. Not all of it was for me, but some of it still is.

    • elliejaneohara April 4, 2013 at 6:28 am #

      Thank you…I don’t think you’re a nut. I love “meeting” converts 🙂

  2. SR April 3, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Ellie, I am so sorry. I want to remind you, being a mother myself, nothing you ever do will make them stop loving you. Maybe they do need their space right now, to digest some of this. Parents are not immune from “space from their kids” just because they are “said kids.”

    Remember when you decided to become Catholic, what a “shock” it was for you, within yourself? It was for me. They are going through the same “shock.” They may even be a little hurt and disappointed. They may be worried about your soul. I was for my Catholic friends before I converted.

    Give them their requested “space” and “time.” They will come around. You are their daughter. Jesus never said, “It was going to be easy for us Ellie.” He just promised He will be with us when it is not. Jesus is with you now, as the “Guest of your soul.” On Holy Saturday He walked into the door of your home with you. Hang onto to that. Ask Him for strength and help, and to soften the hearts of your parents and any pain they may have.

    It is hard Ellie. Now I had great parents and family that never said one word, but good ones. I cannot say the same for my friends, who some I have not seen in 8 years. I still love them though. I miss them. Even though I love and miss them, I have never been sorry one day for converting. You have my email if you need to talk. Love you and God Bless, SR

    • elliejaneohara April 4, 2013 at 6:33 am #

      Thanks, friend…I’m so glad you’ve been able to play this part in my life. Your words have been so soothing and helpful to me these past few months.

  3. cinemacatechesis April 3, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Having lost enough family going the opposite direction, I would guess that they just need some time to process. They may not like the decision you’ve made, but love you anyway. They loved you enough to let you know that they did get your e-mail. They may try to talk you out of it, but ultimately, they my guess is that they’ll accept you back. Pray for them.

    • elliejaneohara April 4, 2013 at 6:34 am #

      Thanks for the words of advice…it’s good for me to think from the other side of the situation.

  4. theoress April 4, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    I’m so sorry. That must be so painful. They do love you, just give them the space. Keep praying, and hope that it might become an opportunity for you to clear up some misconceptions they might hold of the Catholic Faith.

    Thank you for sharing this. It is not an easy path you have chosen. *hug*

    • geloruma April 7, 2013 at 4:55 am #

      Hugs and prayers from me too. Was telling Our Lord about you at Mass yesterday – even though he knows already!

Leave a Reply

