“Ellie, you’re too good at being a Christian to be Catholic.”

2 Apr

I didn’t really mean for my co-workers to even find out I became Catholic. I mean, I wasn’t going to hide it from them, but I honestly thought they wouldn’t even care. So (as with nearly everyone else), I’ve freely talked about the Church when it’s come up, but I haven’t intentionally pushed it into everyone’s faces. Even as a Protestant I preferred to share my beliefs in actions and allow the Holy Spirit to make ways for conversations.

So last night at work I was making calls to raise money for a scholarship here at my school. It was a pretty typical night…lots of hang-ups, swear words, and just generally grumpy people. And then one man answered the phone with a courteous “Hello.” [As a side note: I get paid to be nice to people on the phone, so I really appreciate it when they’re nice back. Even just a “Hello” instead of “What do you want?” can perk up my night.]

I  asked him how his night was going, and then he shared a story with me that broke my heart – a story of loneliness and pain that just made me hurt inside for him. One of the nice things about working at a Christian university is that they encourage us to listen to these stories, and then if the person we’ve called is willing, we get to pray with them. I love this part of my job, because it honestly feels like the most worthwhile thing I do.

After I hung up the call, I sat and dried my eyes and was quiet for a few seconds as I got ready to make my next call. I looked over at the girl sitting next to me. She was shaking her head.

“You’re so good at this. I don’t understand why you would want to give it up. Seriously, Ellie, you’re too good at being a Christian to be Catholic.”

Meanwhile I was thinking, “Uhh Holy Spirit, I guess I wasn’t done with you yet…words please?”

To which He responded: “Just smile at her and then turn around and make your next call.”

14 Responses to ““Ellie, you’re too good at being a Christian to be Catholic.””

  1. Raquel Rose Kato April 2, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    Keep being a light as a CATHOLIC!! We need more Catholics out there like you!

    • elliejaneohara April 2, 2013 at 11:56 am #

      Awww thank you! I’m so grateful the Jesus called me into the Catholic Church – even as a four day old Catholic I wouldn’t give it up for anything!

  2. Lyn April 2, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    LOL. Before I became Catholic, before I even ever considered it, I was told by a non-practicing Catholic (who attended the same non-denominational church as we did at the time) that I would make a great Catholic. Her words still echo in my mind when it gets quiet, and I say a little prayer that her words would be true in my life.

    You are doing something right…keep preaching, and use words when you have to.

    Blessings.

    • elliejaneohara April 2, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

      What a beautiful memory to think on and to pray for! It’s so funny how things from our Protestant pasts were pointing us toward where God would eventually send us!

  3. Faith April 2, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    Wow… Girl, you have such a sweet heart and spirit, because I would have gone off on her…

    • elliejaneohara April 2, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

      I was really surprised that she would even think that, let alone say it. So I think that helped keep the words in haha.

      • Faith April 3, 2013 at 9:09 am #

        That, and the Holy Spirit, I’m sure!!!

      • elliejaneohara April 3, 2013 at 9:24 am #

        Absolutely!

  4. SR April 2, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    Love it and there is nothing I can add to this to make it any better! You said it all without saying a word, so I let it stand! God Bless, SR

  5. Jacky April 2, 2013 at 10:51 pm #

    so silly. 😛 Catholics ARE Christians….I wish people would realize that. My friend actually just posted a comment about how those that convert to a non-denominational church claim that they left “such-and-such religion” to ‘become Christian.’ It’s so silly. Here’s what to keep in mind: If you believe in Christ, you are Christian.

    • elliejaneohara April 2, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

      So true! It really is funny how people seem to think that certain denominations have a monopoly on the word Christian. It’s sad at the same time though, because I know that that type of disunity breaks Jesus’ heart.

  6. geloruma April 4, 2013 at 5:34 am #

    A freind of mine went from being very active in the Cathoic CHurch to a protestant fellow ship church. She said the reason being was: that at the Catholic church she wasn’t being “Fed”.
    I couldn’t understand this as we are “fed” with the true body blood soul and divinity of Christ in the Catholic CHurch.
    Having prayed for her God graced me with a dream. ( which doesn’t happen often!!!) I woke up understanding that her “hunger” was actually “fanaticism”. She wanted a faith where she was a high profile Christian – like a painted up football fan – very much wanting to be SEEN to be doing ” good” and supporting the right team.
    Self love is spiritualy dangerous as the saints always teach.
    The Holy Spirit really did grant you a moment of grace in keeping silent, bless you Ellie.

    • elliejaneohara April 4, 2013 at 6:24 am #

      A lot of the time (at least in the churches I grew up in) when you say you want to be “fed,” it”s in reference to wanting to hear good teachings. She probably disagreed with your Priest’s homilies.

Leave a Reply

