Hardest Day of My Life…

27 Mar

At 10 PM last night someone at my school made a website where you can anonymously submit a post. It was supposed to be a secret admirer thing or something. But it turned into a place for people to say all of the racist, sexist, cruel things that tend to come out when anonymity is involved.

I was furious when I heard some of the things that my Christian peers were saying – that they wished someone would get divorced so they could have her, that they wished someone would die, that they it would be funny if the deaf kid walked out in the street and couldn’t hear a horn honking and therefore got run over.

I was also ashamed to be counted as a student here.

This is Holy Week. This is the week when we’re supposed to be honoring what our Lord did for us, and instead I felt like I could only hear echoes of Crucify Him! Crucify Him!

There wasn’t a thing my school could do about it.

So five of us decided we were going to take this website on. We started with posts of our own – about our desire to be a group of people who love others and who desire to respect and be respected, about the need to use humor appropriately and at the right place and time, and about how this is not what Jesus wants.

Our posts were answered with taunts – those directed at me were of course about my conversion.

Then we began to pray that people (especially the site administrator) would think about the things we had said.

And at 4 PM this afternoon, the site was deleted.

I’m happy that the battle is over…but the damage is already done. Over 1,000 posts were made on that site in the 18 hours it existed.

How does our campus begin to heal now?

2 Responses to “Hardest Day of My Life…”

  1. SR March 28, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    When I read this I thought, “This is some of what Christ went through when they Crucified Him.” Through you and your friends efforts and the Holy Spirit touching the heart of the administrator through your prayers, the “site was deleted.” So this evil was not allowed to continue, and that is what you need to focus on. You need to think today, that you worship a God who answers prayers, not about the damage that was done.

    People are cruel and one day you will be out of there. I think you may be there for a reason and what happened here was one of them. Good Christian job my friend! I am proud of you! God Bless, SR

    • elliejaneohara March 28, 2013 at 7:46 am #

      I feel like I’ve learned so much about my own tendency to be cruel and to say things without thinking about who they’ll hurt. If anything, this situation has helped me to realize that words are even more powerful than I realized.
      I’m so glad that God stepped in. I found myself thinking a lot of Exodus as I prayed, and how God held Pharaoh’s heart in His hand, and changed it according to His will.

Leave a Reply

