Yeah these beads? They’re a rosary. Yes. A Rosary.

26 Mar

Lately I’ve been leaving for work early so that I have time to sit in my car and pray the rosary. I feel kind of uncomfortable praying the rosary in my apartment when my roommates are home because they’re both pretty Baptist and my praying to Mary isn’t really something I want to argue with them about at this point.

So tonight I was sitting in my car before work, rosary in one hand, prayer book in the other, and I was really going at it.

I was so into it that I missed it when one of my co-workers pulled in next to me. When I finished, I got out and saw her parked next to me so I walked over to talk to her.

“Since when do you read to yourself?” she asked.

“Uhhh I was praying.”

“With a book and a necklace?”

“Yeah, I was praying the rosary and there are images and stuff that go along with it.”

“Why?”

“Because I’m Catholic.”

“No you’re not. You’re joking and you’re not even being convincing about it.”

“Uhhh it’s not a joke [nervous chuckle], I’ll officially be a member this Saturday.”

“I’m telling H.”

[H is our boss. I work for our university as a person who calls people to talk to them about our school. We’re a Baptist school. So they don’t really want non-Baptists in the office. I don’t think I’d get fired, but I haven’t really told my boss because I feel kind of awkward.]

“Okay.”

“Holy cow, you’re really serious right now.”

“Yes, that’s what I’ve been saying.”

“Do you even know what you’re doing? I mean, you really shouldn’t get involved with that Church. I bet you have no idea some of the stuff that goes on with those people.”

I wasn’t really sure how to have this conversation. I mean I see this girl at work, but I don’t really know her on a personal level. So I did what I do when I’m not sure what to say – I asked a question:

“What about the Catholic Church bothers you?”

So we talked about Confession and whether or not Communion is really important. And I found myself giving intelligent answers succinctly and humbly (Thank You Holy Spirit!).

One Response to “Yeah these beads? They’re a rosary. Yes. A Rosary.”

  1. SR March 27, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    In my prayers and you did so well with this! I do not know if I told you, but if I did I will tell you again. I have a Crucifix on my wall which someone came into my home and was sitting on my couch. They looked up and said, “The Crucifix offends me because Jesus is not there anymore.” Now this is in my own home and my own wall. At first it was, “How dare you come into my home and say such a thing?” (My thoughts) I offered them another seat in my home, where they sit to this day. It is always something others find wrong, we just have to let the Holy Spirit guide us as best as we can and be patient which is hard to do at times. The persecution never stops and that was one thing I learned, I was going to have to learn to deal with. I always remember Jesus said, “We will always be persecuted for His name.” As you are finding out, the words of our Lord are very true. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

