I am a Catholic now.

26 Mar

I go to Mass on Sunday – it’s in a church, but I call it “Going to Mass,” not “Going to Church.”

I have become friends with the Church Fathers – when I have a question about Scripture I turn to Sacred Tradition and the Catechism. What a joy to be free from the chain of Sola Scriptura!

I rest in the knowledge that Jesus never disinherited my Church or my faith. In spite of all the flaws of the Catholic Church, she has never once been abandoned by God.

I have the Eucharist instead of Communion. I have Jesus’ actual body and blood instead of a symbol. No more “snack-pack” or “self-serve” Communion services – instead every Sunday I honor Christ’s commandment to eat His flesh and drink His blood in remembrance of Him.

I have the liturgy. If I faithfully attend Mass on Sunday, within three years I will have heard the entire Bible read. Never again will I have to endure a three year sermon series focused on one book of the Bible. Now I can look forward to partaking in every part of the Word of God.

I have rest and peace. I used to leave Protestant churches feeling emotionally drained and physically exhausted. It was a challenge for me to endure the ups and downs that often accompany Protestant services and sermons. I also often found myself being asked to clean the church kitchen, work in the nursery, teach Sunday School/Children’s Church, and usually afterwards there was something else to clean, someone who needed a meal cooked, or a Youth group project to plan. While ALL of those things are good things, they were what I focused on when I went to church – and I often missed out on having time to spend with Jesus. I don’t miss that.

I have a rosary. I still cringe a little before I begin to pray, but afterwards (and throughout) I am filled with an indescribable peace. What a joy to meditate on the lives of Christ and His holy mother, and to think on the glorious things the Father and Spirit did through them!

I have more books in my Bible. Honestly this was the most exciting part of becoming a Catholic for me! I’ve flipped through them but haven’t had time for a sit-down read. I absolutely cannot wait to dive into these new books.

I see the Holy Spirit helping me to work out my Salvation with fear and trembling. I find myself falling into the habit of examining my conscience and making peace with God, others, and myself. It’s a beautiful (but still rather painful) process.

I love the Cross more than ever. I love Jesus so much, and I am more in love with Him than ever. I cannot describe for you the joy I have always found when I fall at the feet of Father, Spirit, Jesus. Becoming Catholic has increased that joy ten-fold.

7 Responses to “I am a Catholic now.”

  1. theoress March 26, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    Congratulations! 😀 The Church is a wonderful place to be.
    Just a thought: all the rules and recommendations are to help us live a holy life and grow closer to Christ. Mother Church doesn’t put things in the mortal sin category for nuthin’. (keep that in mind when considering contraception.) It is a wonderful thing to abandon ourselves into His hands. We never know where the path may lead, but if He is the shepherd, we will come out ok.

    Also, glad you are enjoying the Rosary. I admit that it is still a prayer that I struggle to appreciate fully.

    • elliejaneohara March 26, 2013 at 12:04 pm #

      I think my biggest struggle as a Catholic will be seeing the Church as an extension of God. As a Protestant, church was a means for me to speak to God, now as a Catholic, I am learning that Church is a means for God to speak to me.

  2. geloruma March 28, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    Ahh what a joy it was to read your post; I sometimes feel like a spoiled child as a Catholic, and I want so much for others to expereince the same blessings, sacraments spiritual joys of our generous Father. It makes me so sad when other CHristian denominations love Jesus so much, yet the ” myths” prevent them from joining is these treasures. Praise God that I can share the fullness with you – now have these too.

    • elliejaneohara March 28, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      I understand your sadness…I will never go back to not have the blessings and sacraments that the Church gives me!

  3. Roy April 21, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    A most excellent post! I love your passion. Keep on!

    • elliejaneohara April 21, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

      Thank you! I needed those words of encouragement today!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 40 Myths About the Catholic Church–”The Jesus Cookie” | DeaconCast - March 27, 2013

    […] I am a Catholic now. (catholiclite.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

