Well there’s that…

17 Mar

This weekend was supposed to be the one…I was all geared up to come home and tell my parents about my pending entrance into the Catholic Church. I had all my answers prepared. I had the conversation planned.

And then I got knocked off my feet by the flu. I could barely make the two hour drive to their house.

So I’ve spent the weekend laying in bed with my dog…

My mom made me a blanket while I was gone and I’ve been curled up in it.

My dad took my car and checked it over and fixed some stuff that hasn’t been working.

And my littlest brother has been staying up with me, watching movies, making me laugh, and bringing me things to eat.

And on the one hand, it’s great because I feel more loved and cherished than I have in a long time. I know that these people will love me no matter what. But on the other hand…it’s made telling them that much more terrifying. I love these people. I don’t know how I will bear it if I see the same horror in their eyes as I’ve seen in the eyes of others whom I’ve told.

I haven’t had a change of heart about entering the Catholic Church. Not one bit. I have absolute faith that I have been called to worship God as a Catholic.

I’m just not sure how to tell the people I love…

2 Responses to “Well there’s that…”

  1. SR March 17, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

    God will give you that answer when the time is right. So sorry you have the flu. I had it for six weeks, and did not think I was ever going to get over it. Was on antibiotics twice, and I do not see how you made the drive. Prayers and love are with you. Just keep snuggling in your new blanket of love. God Bless, SR

  2. geloruma March 18, 2013 at 5:28 am #

    Hi CL,
    .Sorry to hear you are unwell. I think your worst fear is that they will disown you if you tell them – its also that you don’t want to hurt them, because you don’t want them to fear for your soul if you join ” that” church!
    Satan will play on those kinds of thoughts; the truth is though, that through your participation in the sacraments of the Catholic church you will be able to bring Jesus to them in a profound way, and bring them closer to their beloved Jesus.
    I am glad you haven’t had a change of heart.
    I am not sure where you are with your relationship with the Blessed Virgin, so I will keep you all in my rosaries.
    God has ways of telling us “the time isn’t right yet”, and from a Catholic persepective; following the example of Christ; one can offer the suffering of an illness, or any inconveniece for a prayer need.
    Saint Rapheal is the saint of Happy meetings, ( book of Tobit) you may ask his prayers for a “happy outcome” when you recognise that the “right time” has come to tell your family.

Leave a Reply

