Quote

My hope is built…

15 Mar

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

Refrain:
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my hope and stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found;
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

One thing I miss from being a Protestant – the way once a month on a Sunday night we would all come together and have a sing-a-long from the hymnal. Some of my most favorite memories were made on those nights. I always get excited when I’m at Mass and a song from my childhood is included in the service. Those moments are some of the few times that I feel at peace with my past, my present, and my future. For the few minutes of song, I don’t feel torn between two disparate worlds.

One Response to “My hope is built…”

  1. geloruma March 17, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    Hi,
    I love the words of this hymn, thoug I am not familiar with it at all.
    When I was growing up in the cathoic church, it was more common to have choirs and choristers. I was part of that group, and meeting for practice was always enjoyable. I know this isn’t quite the same as your experience – but I empathise with your missing that fellowship, and singing together to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

