The New Eve

9 Mar

Last night I read Hail, Holy Queen by Scott Hahn. If you’ve never read this book, you really ought to look into it – even (or especially!) if you’re not Catholic. It’s a beautiful exposé on the part that Mary plays in the Gospel, AND in the Old Testament. I honestly feel as if the entire Bible makes ten times more sense than it ever has to me.

After I finished the book, I of course, wanted to pray the Rosary. As I meditated on the Sorrowful Mysteries, and asked the Blessed Mother for her prayers, I found my thoughts directed at those in my life who are struggling right now. I have several friends with troubled lives, hearts, and minds right now. One is dealing with an unplanned pregnancy and a new husband who wants to move their new family halfway across the country ten days before she is due. One is dealing with an overseas husband, who is threatening to divorce her if she doesn’t get him into the US. One is dealing with a serious drug addiction.

Up until last night I had struggled with how to pray for these friends. How do you solve problems like those? Most of the time I don’t even know what to say to those friends, let alone how to pray for them. And then last night I found that I had the words:

Pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death.

After my prayers, I spent most of the night laying in my bed and thinking about the mysteries of God.

I am realizing more and more that women are important to God. Not in spite of the fact that we are female, but because we are female. I grew up believing that God loved women, but only out of obligation, not because He really wanted to. Because I had never recognized Mary as the new Eve, I was under the impression that in God’s mind, sin existed solely because of a woman, and redemption existed solely because of a man. I believed that Jesus’ death on the cross nullified my sin, but since I am a woman I often felt that the Father didn’t really see me as His child. Why would God want a child like Eve?

After twenty years of being taught that all women are weak and disobedient like Eve, it was refreshing to finally encounter Mary – a woman who lived a life of strength and obedience. It was also refreshing to realize that God never even saw Eve as merely being a weak and disobedient woman. She sinned, yes, but He knew that one day that sin would be canceled out by the humility, honor, and obedience of another woman.

In the Old Eve I found desolation and shame. In the New Eve I find an advocate who knows the words to pray, and I find an example of a life of Holiness.

7 Responses to “The New Eve”

  1. Lyn March 9, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    I’m gonna have to get that book. Seriously, Mary and the saints were my biggest hurdle in coming to the Catholic Church…now I can’t imagine my life without them!

    • elliejaneohara March 9, 2013 at 10:47 am #

      I know! I’m still a little wary of the saints, but the things I’ve learned about Mary have had a profound impact on me spiritually, mentally, and emotionally.

      • geloruma March 11, 2013 at 9:14 am #

        As we have the eternal spirit of God, and are of one body in Christ, earth does not seperate us from those who are in heaven.
        The saints are our big brothers and sisters who are in a good position to pray for us. You’ll love the saints and wonder why you ever thought otherwise one day!

  2. SR March 9, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    Now you’ve got it!!! God Bless, SR

  3. geloruma March 11, 2013 at 9:08 am #

    Hi,
    I didn’t know that women were thought of in this way from a …was it protestant evangelical (?) perspective. I think there are many biblical examples of Jesus regarding women with tenderness and respect, Martha ans Mary, Mary Magdalene and the woman at the well, and the woman with the haemorrage to name a few.
    Glad you found this teaching about Mary being the new Eve, check out EWTN on the web for sound Catholic teachings, Mr. Hahn has done a series for them called “Hail Holy Queen” amongst many others.

    • elliejaneohara March 11, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      I don’t know that ALL Protestants hold a more negative view of women, but I can safely say that the fundamentalist churches I grew up in definitely preached that women were inherently weaker and more likely to be disobedient. We were given examples of sinful women (especially the woman at the well from Samaria), and really didn’t discuss strong, obedient, holy women.
      The tricky thing with Baptists is that each church is pretty individualistic so it’s hard to say that there’s a general consensus regarding beliefs.

      • geloruma March 11, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

        Thanks for this ellieJOH
        I get bewildered by the kaleidoscope of protestant beliefs. I like to try to understand. I have attended some evangelical and Methodist services with freinds in the past. I remembered that I had watched a female protestant minister on T.V. and she was blaming women for stuff in a way that sounded like she was saying God made them subserviant to men, and if they lost a baby it was their own fault -she was shouting a lot and quoting scripture to back up the idea.
        I couldn’t make head or tail of where she was coming from as this style of preaching was different from the protestand ones I ‘d experienced previously.

Leave a Reply

