Video

Cool Church

7 Mar

Someone I grew up with e-mailed me the link to this. He and I both had a good laugh over it because this is exactly the way our church was growing up. And this is also exactly why neither one of us are members of that type of church now. Sadly, my friend decided to become an atheist, rather than seek out Jesus in another church.

5 Responses to “Cool Church”

  1. Faith March 24, 2013 at 8:43 am #

    This is so beyond true. I think I’ve seen it before but I just had a good pre-Sunday morning service giggle. Right before I head to a church that is exactly the same…
    One of the things I always enjoy about Mass the most is how it is focused on Jesus, not a sermon or concert. I enjoy the concert-like worship as well, but the reverence of the Mass reminds me that Christianity is not meant to be a me-focused religion.

    • elliejaneohara March 24, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

      I enjoy the reverence of Mass too. I love the respect for Communion (can’t get into the habit of saying “the Eucharist!), and I love the liturgy. I’ve always hated sermons that covered only a pastor’s favorite passages and topics – I felt that I was missing out on the rest of God’s Word!
      I do still make a point of going to other types of churches. I enjoy some contemporary worship services, and I also like the sense of fellowship that is found in many Protestant churches. Maybe I’m too middle-of-the-road, but I like having the best of both worlds!

      • Faith March 25, 2013 at 9:12 am #

        My gosh, me too. I was talking to my sister last night about how I feel torn between both. There is an amazing church I go to that has the most wonderful Bible teaching and worship. I want to still have those experiences but I can’t deny that I believe I belong in the fellowship of the Catholic Church.

      • elliejaneohara March 25, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

        When I’m at my parents’ house I go to Mass on Saturday night and church with them on Sunday morning. So far that’s the most satisfying solution I’ve found to being part of both communities!

      • Faith March 27, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

        I think I will probably end up doing something similar! I am very attached to exegetical preaching, as well as a 20 minute worship music set led by a guy in flannel…

Leave a Reply

