A Bit of a Quandry

5 Mar

Well…my conversion is probably going to come out to my parents sooner rather than later.

My Spring Break is coming up soon and I’d been planning on staying with a friend rather than going back to my parents’ house. They tend to ask a lot of personal questions and they’re both really good at reading me, so I don’t really want to see them before Easter because I’d like to be safe inside the Church before they find out…and staying away during Spring Break was my solution.

However, my father called this morning to tell me that he and my mom demand that I come home for my break…

Of all my siblings, I’ve always been the good, quiet, devout child…so rather than fight I told him I had to finish a homework assignment. Then I got off the phone and stared at myself in the mirror for a bit while I tried to decide what to do.

I love my parents, and there is no doubt in my mind that they love me. But they have overbearing tendencies. I’ve watched my older brother deal with it by rebelling and hurting them. And I don’t want to do that.

I also don’t want to lose their financial support the way he has…I’m not at a point where I can really make it on my own. I’m working but it’s really only enough to pay my rent and buy my groceries. I would have to quit school…

But I also want to feel free to make my own decisions…especially those about my spiritual life.

I feel like I am learning exactly what Jesus meant when He said that you can’t serve both God and money.

4 Responses to “A Bit of a Quandry”

  1. SR March 5, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Pray Ellie, that God will give you a solution. God sees and knows everything and He also knows the reason/reasons behind all of this. I truly urge you to go and talk to your Priest. I think you need help on this one. God Bless, SR

    • elliejaneohara March 6, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      My sponsor and I are meeting to pray together tomorrow, and I’m hoping to get together with my Priest this Saturday. I’m thankful because I feel very prayed for right now, and less susceptible to the confusing voice of the Evil One. Thank you for your thoughts, friend.

  2. inhishands March 6, 2013 at 6:05 am #

    It will be ok. I understand your feelings completely!

  3. SR March 6, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    Keep us updated! Love you and it will not be long now! God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

